

Manitoba Police Commission – Board of Commissioners

Commissioners

<u>Chairperson</u> David Asper, Winnipeg

<u>Vice-Chairperson</u> Jeannette Acheson, Winnipeg (bil.)

<u>Commissioners</u> Ernest Blais, Winnipeg George Wright, Winnipeg Ashling Sweeny, Thompson Donna Morken, Rivers Mamadou Ka, Winnipeg Desiree Gillespie, Stonewall

Mandate:

The Manitoba Police Commission is established under *The Police Services Act*. The Commission enhances civilian input, governance, transparency and accountability in the delivery of policing services in Manitoba.

Authority:

The Police Services Act

Responsibilities:

The Commission is responsible for providing advice to the Minister of Justice on regulations required under *The Police Services Act*; consulting with the public on policing issues; developing a policy and procedures manual for use by all municipal police boards; arranging training for all municipal police boards; selecting, training, assigning and receiving reports back from civilian monitors who observe independent investigations of police officers; conducting studies on issues referred to the Commission by the Minister; and performing other duties as assigned by the Minister.

Membership:

At least five but no more than nine persons appointed by the Lieutenant Governor in Council and must include one First Nations representative and one Métis representative. Appointments must take into account the cultural and gender diversity of Manitoba. Prospective appointees are subject to a criminal record check and child and adult abuse registry checks. Note: the appointment of a current serving police officer is not prohibited but, as it may pose challenges from both a time commitment and a perception of conflict perspective, should be considered on a case-by-case basis.

Length of Term:

Appointments are for fixed terms not exceeding four years and no member may serve more than two successive terms.

Desirable Expertise:

Interest in policing, public safety, policy development and governance; strong analytical skills; and the ability to make impartial decisions, understand complex legal issues and interpret policies and legislation.

Time Commitment:

Commissioners are required to attend between eight to ten Commission meetings per year, each lasting a half day to a full day. Commissioners are also required to spend up to a half day conducting preparatory work for each meeting. Meetings are held in the evenings or on Saturdays.

Commissioners may also be assigned to various standing committees as required. Standing committees meet bi-monthly or as required, generally for a half day. Time commitments may increase depending on particular duties being undertaken by the Commission at any given time.

It is essential that the Commissioners be available during business hours to attend Commission and sub-committee meetings. If members are employed on a full time basis, they must be able to arrange to take time off to attend meetings.

Meetings: Frequency:	As required
Location:	Virtual/ In-person at 420-155 Carlton Street
Duration:	Half day to a full day
Remuneration: Chair:	\$192 per half day; \$336 per full day
Member:	\$109 per half day; \$191 per full day

All board members are entitled to claim mileage when attending meetings, while members who live outside of Winnipeg may also claim additional travel expenses (e.g. hotel, meals) in accordance with the LGCA's Expense Reimbursement policy.